July 9, 2009

 

Heinz Gluten-Free List Update

Last month I posted a letter I received from Heinz including their gluten-free product list. A reader pointed out to me today that Heinz Worcestershire sauce was listed as gluten free despite the fact that the label says it contains wheat. According to the label shown on the web site, wheat is part of the soy sauce that is used in the Worcestershire sauce.

I have notified Heinz of the mistake. This should be a reminder to us that we need to always read labels. Product lists are a helpful starting point, but mistakes do happen. If you printed the list for reference, please be sure to cross off the Heinz Worcestershire sauce. A gluten-free alternative is Lea & Perrins brand, also made my Heinz.


Comments:
Thanks for the follow-up. It's always good to read labels. It's also nice to have other people point things out for us!
 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]



Links to this post:

Create a Link



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Subscribe to Posts [Atom]