March 17, 2009
Corn Chex Are NOT Gluten-Free
Please read my Chex update here.
When General Mills reformulated Rice Chex to make it gluten-free, we all rejoiced. Now, word has been passed on Twitter that Corn Chex, as well as other Chex varieties, are now gluten-free. I even retweeted the information. Then I read a blog post saying that the author spoke with General Mills and confirmed the reformulations.
I thought it was odd that I had not seen a press release about this and that the General Mills web site still only claimed Rice Chex to be gluten-free. Therefore, I called the number given at the Chex website. I was told that only Rice Chex are gluten-free, that any gluten-free products will be labeled, and that there are currently no Chex cereals other than Rice Chex which are labeled as gluten-free.
The person I spoke to was aware of the information being passed around on the Internet and told me the information was incorrect. When I asked if the company was working on reformulating other Chex cereals, she said she was not privy to that information.
Now, I admit it is possible, though unlikely, that the person I spoke to had not yet been informed of a change. The point is to be careful and always read labels. If I read an official statement from General Mills or see information on their web site contrary to what I have stated here, I’ll definitely pass it on. I would certainly be happy to have more gluten-free options available in the cereal isle of regular grocery stores.
You can read follow-up information to this post here.
Labels: gluten-free news
Thanks for the post!
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
Links to this post:
Subscribe to Posts [Atom]